A Day in Caregiving

Today, I got to sleep in a tad. I am glad Dad is on his meds, he has a home, and he roams and walks around freely.

When I got up and put on my robe, I let myself stay in pjs and went to boil water for our drip coffee and began the work.

On today’s menu just for breakfast and brunch, Dad has eaten a bowl of whole-grain cereal and 1% low-fat milk, Strawberry Greek Yogurt with 1 sliced banana, one bowl of chicken ramen, two cups of coffee, one cup of water, and his meds. He has been wandering and shifting things around the cluttered table. Thankfully, earlier, I boiled three medium taro for his snack. I will guess that he’s had 160g+130+110g+190g, 2 cups of coffee, and creamer 62g. If we’re counting taro right: 116g per… so he has over 1000g for this morning’s meal! Wow.

Affirmations for today:

I am loved. I am doing my best. I am a good daughter. I am a good caretaker. I am proud of myself. I am full of joy and happiness. I am thankful.

Is anyone out there caretaking for their elderly parents? I’d love to hear your story.

By MamaDea

Life can be full of hope and abundance; I am certain we can find it because the life we want and desire: Jesus came to give us life and we can have it abundantly! A little about me: I am a wife, first. Next, I am a mama to five children; my husband and I have four daughters and son! I love to connect and talk about things of God and look for beauty in life.

Leave a comment