Day 6: Ladies of the Civil Rights Movements

Day 6 of Black History Month.

We are celebrating a few figures in the civil rights movement whom were ladies in leadership:

Fannie Lou Hammer

Daisy Bates

Ella Baker

Diane Nash

Dorothy Height

JoAnn Robinson

Septima Poinsette Clark

Rosa Parks

Coretta Scott King

The impact from each of these women lives on today. Segregation was ended, rights for votes given, and so on.

As I learned about these women today, I am in awe of their courage. Women are given little credibility globally but to stand up during a time segregation was legal in one too many states, these women raised families and spiritual families when their lives were threatened for the very core belief that they were created as one of God’s own.

I only included their names because their names are valuable–take it in…

and for more information, go here: https://www.one.org/us/blog/7-kick-ass-women-civil-rights-leaders-you-need-to-know/

Today, I am thankful for a fierce mama who leads our family. My dad is awesome, too, but something about a strong female… I am grateful to have such a model to learn and glean from.

If you have a mama, spiritual mama, leader mama… learn and glean.

Fight for others, especially the weak and oppressed. Show no partiality! Love your neighbors…

Let’s Pray: Oh God, we thank you for many strong leaders, especially those who bring light, add salt and magnify your name. God, we pray for many who are needing courage to fight the good fight. Help me to keep my eyes and heart open to fight for those who are oppressed and weak. Grant me thy grace that I may be in step with the Spirit and practice justice and righteousness. Amen.

By MamaDea

Life can be full of hope and abundance; I am certain we can find it because the life we want and desire: Jesus came to give us life and we can have it abundantly! A little about me: I am a wife, first. Next, I am a mama to five children; my husband and I have four daughters and son! I love to connect and talk about things of God and look for beauty in life.

Leave a comment